Shelley Hancock announces by-election date

Residents in the Cootamundra electorate will head to the polls for the state seat by-election on Saturday, October 14. 

The by-election was made necessary by the resignation of former Member for Cootamundra Katrina Hodgkinson. 

Ms Hodgkinson spent her final day as a Member of Parliament last Friday, with businesswoman Steph Cooke having accepted pre-selection for the National Party ahead of the by-election. 

Speaker of the NSW Legislative Assembly Shelley Hancock announced the date people would cast their vote today with a by-election to be held in Blacktown also, following the receipt of resignations from their sitting member.

Mrs Hancock said “subsequent upon receipt of the resignations of Mr John Robertson and the Hon Katrina Hodgkinson, I wish to announce that by-elections for the vacant seats of Blacktown and Cootamundra will be held on Saturday 14 October 2017.

“I also intend to call a by-election for the electoral district of Murray on Saturday October, 14 2017, pending receipt of the incumbent member’s formal resignation.”

It was announced this week the Shooters, Fishers and Farmers Party had endorsed Matthew Stadtmiller to fight it out for the seat of Cootamundra against the Nationals’ Steph Cooke.

Australia First Party National President Jim Saleam has also been put forward as a candidate in the Cootamundra by-election. 

More on other candidates as they come to light. 


Discuss "Cootamundra by-election date locked in"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.